Skip to main content

Book Haul | June 2017



Hi guys! I'm sorry for being a bit absent on the blog and on instagram these past few days despite having all the free time in the world because I'm on holidays. The thing is that my laptop is almost dead; it takes forever to turn on and after that it goes down 10 minutes later and it's very frustrating so I haven't been using it because I can't be bothered and so I haven't written any single post or edit any pictures. And here comes the second problem, my camera is doing weird stuff. It won't focus and most of the pictures come with a blurry feel to them so I'm incredibly frustrated because replacing both a laptop and a camera is not cheap.

But enough of my whining because you're not here for that and more about the books. Today, as the title suggest, I'm here to show you all the books I've acquired in the month of June. And although you see four books here, I did some cheeky purcheses last week because I was so done with everything. I assume they'll arrive in July so I'll show you in my next book haul. Without further ado, let's get on with the book haul:

  • The Doll's Alphabet by Camilla Grudova. I've talked about Moth Box before on the blog but always about the novel edition. However, Mercedes has done one box around short stories. I didn't buy that box because I'm very special when it comes to short stories. Not everything works for me so I waited until the short story collections were revealed and this one caught my attention immediately. This is a collection of surreal stories and it's for fans of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood. I believe I'm in for a treat.
  •  My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier. This one I bought on a whim because the movie adaptation with Rachel Weisz has recently come out and a lot of people is talking about it and saying this book is even better than Rebecca. I've read neither of them but I wanna find out and I adore Weisz so I plan to watch the movie once I'm done with the book. 
  • The Refrigerator Monologues by Catherynne M. Valente. This is another short story collection about six female superheroes and the girlfriends of superheroes. I had this one pre-ordered since late last year because it sounded amazing and as soon as it arrived I read it. It was fantastic. I've talked about this on my instagram but this book came to be because Valente went to see the Amazing Spiderman 2 and left incredibly upset about something that happened (I won't say it here since it's a spoiler for the movie). She started to think about a concept Gail Simone called "girls in refrigerators" to describe how female characters are used (and destroyed) in comics for the sake of developing the male characters' storylines. I've seen this all the time, not only in comics but also in movies, TV shows, etc. It's such a frustrating device and one that sadly I don't think will be going away anytime soon. As I said, I have already read this one and Valente does an amazing job. She just knows her way with words and the stories in this collection are no exception. Of course I enjoyed some more than others but as a whole they all pack a punch. I highly recommend this one.
  • The Clay Girl by Heather Tucker. As soon as I watched Mercede's review of this novel, I added it to my wishlist. But I just couldn't wait any longer and I had to buy it. I will highly recommend you to go and see the review because she's so good at making you want to read this book. Essentially this is about Ari, a 8-year-old girl who just lost her father (he literally blew his brains out in front of his daughters), goes to live with her aunt Mary. However, her twisted mother comes back into her life and Ari must go back to her. This novel is set in the 60s in Toronto and sounds like such a heartbreaking yet beautiful story. I cannot wait to read it this summer.

And that's all the books I got in June. As always would love to hear what had you got this month and if you've heard about any of these books. Hope you have a lovely day!


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Vintage Classics: Brontë Series

Maybe you don’t know this about me but I collect different edition of Jane Eyre and when I learnt that Vintage was releasing the new Brontë series I just couldn’t say no. 

The 80th Anniversary Edition of Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

I received this beautiful edition in the mail yesterday and I just couldn't not share it here. I read Rebecca last year and despite not writing a full review of it here on the blog, it became one of my all time favourites. Still today there are moments when I find myself thinking about the story and the characters. Du Maurier brings to life and incredible story and memorable characters and it's one of those books I'll recommend to anyone.

Reading Diary | February Books | 2018

Feb, 1st - 15:15. Finished the second book in the first volume of the Riyria Revelations and I was pleasantly surprised. I still think the world building is the weakest thing about the story because it's not greatly developed but the story is well-written and entertaining. I'm planning on continuing reading the series because now I'm intrigued enough to want to know how everything will unfold. Feb, 7th - 10:33.  I'm finally prepared to go and see the movie Call Me By Your Name because I just finished reading the novel. I enjoyed it quite a bit. It is a celebration of love and an exploration of sex and identity. It's quite explicit though so if you feel uncomfortable with that keep it in mind if you're planning on reading it. My full review of the book is HERE (I also talk a little bit about the movie).